Ludington Area Center for the Arts
Ludington Area Center for the Arts
Find YOUR Center!!

Tickets on sale now for MANHATTAN SHORT screenings

The Ludington Area Center for the Arts has been selected as a viewing site for MANHATTAN SHORT 2020. The 23rd Annual Short Film Festival, a worldwide event taking place across six continents between Sept. 24-Oct. 31. The festival's nine films screen simultaneously across the world during a one-month period, with the Best Film and Best Actor determined by ballots cast by the audience in each participating venue.
Screenings of the MANHATTAN SHORT at LACA will be limited to 10 people per showing, tickets are $10 each and must be purchased in advance at https://ludingtonartscenter.square.site/manhattan-short-film-festival or by calling 231-845-2787.
Screenings will take place:
Thursday, Sept. 24 at 7 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 1 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 2 at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 6 at 1 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 8 at 1 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 14 at 1 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 16 at 1 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 20 at 7 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 22 at 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 25 at 1 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 28 at 1 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 30 at 1 p.m.

The MANHATTAN SHORT films include:
Safe Space (Australia), The Stick (Finland), Exam (Iran), Hey, Gray (Russia), White Eye (Israel), Sticker (North Macedonia), Two Little Boys (USA), Maestro (France) The Present (Palenstine).
This year's films use drama, comedy and animation to address an astonishing number of themes, ranging from identity to parenthood to the seemingly universal frustration caused by the Department of Motor Vehicles no matter the country. The directorial voices are both male and female from countries large and small, often inspired by personal and sometimes harrowing experience. This year's Final Nine screening also is a rare instance when gripping dramas from Iran, Israel, and the State of Palestine are featured in the same program.
View the festivals trailer at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcXHJqnFJrQ